Host Venue of the 2023 Solheim Cup

Volvo World Match Play Championship 2009, 2011 & 2012



Solheim Cup Trophy - Finca Cortesin

Finca Cortesin - Official Venue of the Solheim Cup 2023

Solheim Cup 2019 Winning Team - Europe

Finca Cortesin, home of the Volvo World Match Play Championship 2009, 2011 & 2012

2009. From left to right, standing: Sergio García, Anthony Kim, Martin Kaymer, Ross Fisher, Henrik Stenson, Robert Allenby, Lee Westwood, Camilo Villegas, Angel Cabrera. Seated: Paul Casey, Retief Goosen, Oliver Wilson, Scott Strange, Rory McIlroy, Simon Dyson, Jeev Milkha Singh

2011. From left to right, standing: Y.E. Yang, Noh Seng-Yul, Retief Goosen, Jhonattan Vegas, Chrk Schwartzel, Nicolas Colsaerts, Ian Poulter, Alvaro Quirós, Martin Kaymer, Lee Westwood, Anders Hansen, Paul Lawrie, Aaron Baddeley, Ryan Moore Louis Oosthuizen. Seated: Rory McIlroy, Graeme McDowell, Paul Casey, Miguel Angel Jiménez, Ross Fisher, Johan Edfors, Luke Donald, Soren Kjeldsen, Francesco Molinari

2012. From left to right, standing: Nicolas Colsaerts, Peter Hanson, paul Lawrie, Retief Goosen, Richard Finch, Thomas Björn, Robert Karlsson, Martin Kaymer, Alvaro Quirós, Rafael Cabrela Bello, Camilo Villegas, Robert Rock, Darren Clarke, JBE Kruger, Tetsuji hiratsuka. Seated: Tom Lewis, Brandt Snedeker, Sergio García, Charl Schwartzel, Ian Poulter, Justin Rose, Graeme McDowell, John Senden

Ross Fischer. Winner 2009

Ian Pouler. Winner 2011

Nicolas Colsaerts. Winner 2012

European Team Ryder Cup 2012. Except for the Captain, all of them played at Finca Cortesin during the Volvo World Match Play Championship. Captain: Jose Maria Olazabal. Players: Ian poulter, Paul Lawrie, Lee Westwood, Justin Rose, Peter hanson, Francesco Molinari, Luke Donald, Rory McIlroy, Martin Kaymer, Nicolas Colsaerts, Sergio García and Graeme McDowell.

Rory McIlroy & Graeme McDowell

Luke Donald

Sergio García

Justin Rose

Alvaro Quirós, Lee Westwood & Miguel Angel Jiménez

Martin Kaymer

Francesco Molinari

Rafael Cabrera Bello


Finca Cortesin Promises Unforgettable Solheim Cup Experience

Finca Cortesin is celebrating the prestigious honour of being chosen to host the 2023 Solheim Cup – the first time that Spain has staged the match between Europe and the United States. Spain will become the sixth different European nation to stage the biggest team competition in women’s golf when the event heads to Andalusia from the 18th to the 24th September 2023.

Regarded as one of the best courses in Spain and among the premier resorts in Europe, Finca Cortesin has a proven track record for hosting high-profile tournaments including the Volvo World Match Play Championship in 2009, 2011 and 2012, with the star-studded line-up including Rory McIlroy, Lee Westwood, Martin Kaymer, Sergio Garcia and Luke Donald.



Vicente Rubio, president of Finca Cortesin Golf Club, said: “Hosting an event of this magnitude and worldwide importance is a tremendous honour and one that makes us all feel very proud and privileged.

“With the layout that Cabell Robinson has created and different challenges that it presents, the course lends itself perfectly to an event of this nature. With the work that has taken place over the last few years, it has never looked in better condition and every player is guaranteed an experience that they will never forget.”

Volvo World Match Play Championship Tournament History

The inaugural winner of the World Match Play Championship at Wentworth in 1964 was the legendary Arnold Palmer. A visionary lawyer, Mr. Mark McCormack, decided to start a match play event with only the top 8 players in the world. Palmer and Gary Player were to dominate the first five years of the Championship with Palmer winning twice and Player three times. The early 1980s were dominated by Greg Norman and Seve Ballesteros who won the title three and four times respectively between 1980 and 1986. The tournament was played as a regular match play event where 32 players started on day one, playing 36 holes each day until the final 2 players disputed the final on Sunday.

In 2009 – with Volvo now at the helm – the World Match Play Championship left Wentworth for the first time in its 45-year history, moving to the glorious location of Finca Cortesin in Spain. With a new sponsor and venue came a new qualification criteria and a round robin style group format, which proved a big hit with the players, spectators and media. England’s Ross Fisher beat Anthony Kim 4&3 in the final, coming through a stellar field which boasted 11 of the World’s top 30 ranked players and 11 different nationalities.


Further enhancements were made to the format in 2011 for the second edition of the Volvo World Match Play, which saw the strongest ever field in the history of the Championship – now increased to 24 players – come together to challenge for the €800,000 first prize. With six of the current top ten players in the world in the field, including the world numbers 1, 2 and 3 in Lee Westwood, Luke Donald and Martin Kaymer all looking to stake their claim to the world number 1 spot, it was Ian Poulter who once again proved what a fantastic match play golfer he is, by taking the title in a memorable final against Luke Donald, eventually winning 2&1.

In 2012 the format was the same as in the previous year for the third edition of this magnificent event, bringing an unknown Nicolas Colsaerts to the circle of champions, who won the tournament in a close final against Graeme McDowell in very difficult and windy conditions by 1 up.

The Volvo World Match Play has lifted Finca Cortesin to group of great golf courses and world class event venues. The combination of the great championship course design and the luxurious and charm of the Finca Cortesin Hotel make the resort the ideal place to host events of the highest level and quality.

Back To Top